top of page

Night Time Stories: Magnetized By The Sky

I don't know what it was about the new town home that I had moved my family into that changed me. There were so many differences from where we came from that I feel I'll just pay dues to mother nature herself. City life will keep you trapped with a close mind. You'll never have the luxuries of the stars and open sky, lakes outback with seagulls packed on anything they can stand on nor the standing still enough to see the beauty of the seasons change. Well, I can say those were my luxuries, at least when we moved to that town home. I actually made friends with the seagulls

after I discovered I was sandwiched in between 2 elderly neighbors who collected loads of free food from their jobs just so they can bring it home and bombard me with the most of it. I was very grateful but sometimes it was expired, molded food or a lot of one thing. Like bread, bread was coming in at rapid speeds. There was only one thing to do so I started feeding the birds. They are interesting entities

as I've learned and it takes them a while to build their trust, but when they do they're friends til the end. I grew to hate when the birds flew away when it warmed up because I had to find other ways of getting rid of that bread. What can I say, that's another story too.

There's one thing I left out about my old place. Before I moved I had noticed that there was a "star" lined up in front of my apartment when I came outside and stood on my porch. It was almost like it was there just for me to see it. I became fascinated with it and started watching it, only to suddenly start to seeing more come out. Then I started to see different formations they were making and because I kept my eyes on those stars I started to see something strange. They were moving and changing colors. It didn't take much convincing myself after that, that it could just possibly be something else. That's one important piece to this puzzle.

When I moved to my town home the seagulls connected me to the sky even more. I couldn't wait until the clear nights so that I could look for more moving lights in the sky. It became a hobby for me that sometimes my boyfriend at the time or friends would support and join. Well speaking of my then boyfriend, one night we were in bed talking when we heard some strange very strange noise in the sky. Now we used to hear all kinds of weird stuff but this one I can't even really describe it but I know it sounded like whatever it was that came out of the sky stopped right over the roof of our bedroom. I was scared out of my mind but laughing constantly with again fascination. Of course I wanted to go investigate and see what it was because whatever it was hung out over us for a second, or at least we could still hear it for the amount of time it would have took to go and look out the door, get scared as hell and run back to the room. However we stayed safe and those 5 questions they teach us to ask for thorough investigation in grade school ( who, what, when, why and how) still remains on the back of my mind.

bottom of page